Shirley Hendrick Award

Debra Roach

2020 Recipient

Dr. Debra Roach

Director of Workforce Development and Continuing Education at Penn State Beaver and Penn State Shenango

Dr. Roach was nominated and selected due to her significant accomplishments related to workforce development opportunities in Beaver County, Pennsylvania and beyond. Her work includes the development of certificates and workshops that provide adult learners with flexible continuing education options offered via evening, weekend, and hybrid modules. Through strategic partnerships with various industry partners, Dr. Roach has also created new content that meets the needs of the region’s employers. For example, she developed and submitted to the Pennsylvania State Licensing Board the first Penn State-offered Certified Recovery Specialist (CRS) program in support of strategic initiatives focused on battling the opioid crisis.

Shirley Hendrick Award

The Shirley Hendrick Award recognizes a University employee  whose visionary accomplishments have contributed significantly to foster and to  increase Penn State’s efforts to serve the adult learner. The award is open to any University employees who

  • Demonstrates leadership, support, and advocacy for adult  learners throughout the University community.
  • Champions strategic initiatives to integrate best practices for adult learners into the overall landscape of the University.
  • Encourages innovative activities to foster and inspire a culture of collaboration while improving access to adult learner programs and services.
  • Exemplifies the spirit of entrepreneurial and visionary leadership in creating new opportunities for adult learners to access Penn State programs.

Nomination Information and Deadline

Nomination Instructions

  • Complete the online nomination form and two short letters of support to nominate a colleague for the Shirley Hendrick Award.
  • Nominations for the 2021 award will close on December 18th, 2020. The winner will be announced in March 2021.

Submit a nomination



Typically, an individual will receive the award only once, unless the subsequent nomination demonstrates that  the current work being recognized is new and distinct from the body of work previously recognized.

An individual who has received the award is not eligible to receive it again for five years.

Current members of the Commission for Adult Learners may not nominate individuals during their term of service.

The selection committee may, after reviewing the nominations, elect not to select a  recipient for a given year.

Award selection committee contact: Patricia Staskiel,

Past Award Recipients

Click here to view past recipients of the Shirley Hendrick Award.

Note: All award nominees should be prepared to present at the 2021 Hendrick conference as part of the recognition for the award recipient. Further information will be shared with those individuals by the Hendrick Award and Conference planning committee following award winner selection.